Getting better and finding Jesus

Okay, so I know I haven’t posted anything recently, and that is primarily because I hadn’t really done anything too exciting. Unless you all want to hear about what I learn in my classes day-by-day.

Some news, I am finally getting over being sick, I think. I’ve had a bad cold on-and-off for the last 2 and a half weeks, and it’s actually clearing up. I still have a cough, but that’s fading. So, hopefully I’ll be all good within the next day or two.

More excitingly, I found Jesus. Okay, so maybe I already knew and loved Jesus before this, but I think it sounds better that way. Two friends and I wanted to go to El Naranco, which is a big statue of Jesus on top of a mountain near Oviedo. So, being the intelligent, young college students we are, we decided to just try to find our way rather than ask someone or bring someone who knew. Needless to say, we were lost countless times. On the way there, we hiked through thorns and mud and jumped a fence (because we took the wrong path). My legs were screaming at me because of all the uphill climbing. Surprisingly, we made it there in the average time it takes (about 2 hours). We must have found a shortcut or something, but we got there! The view was amazing, you could see the entire city and the snow-capped mountains in the background. It was hazy though, so pictures aren’t that great which is disappointing. (btw, pictures will always be posted to Facebook, I hate trying to put them in my posts, so it will happen very rarely)

We ate a little bit while up there, then started our trek back. We thought going back would be simple and easy, just a downhill walk, no big. Oh, were we wrong. We (again) took the wrong path and somehow ended up on the other side other the mountain. So, we started taking random paths (that seemed to lead the way we needed) in hopes of finding a road or something. There was a lot of uphill walking again, which my legs were not happy with and some more mud and thorns. I was also not wearing the correct footwear for a real hike (since I thought it was a legit paved-path (which it is, we just messed up)) so I have a nasty skinned toe from it blistering and then rubbing. Simply being able to sit down and take off my shoes felt like heaven. Let’s just say wearing shoes in the near future is not going to be any fun.

Even with my painful feet and will-be soar legs, I greatly enjoyed our adventure. We had a ton of fun, and we bonded a lot. We had singing sessions together, one of which was “You Belong With Me” by Taylor Swift, in which we all sang the chorus while running down a hill (best part, I was the only girl, so these two guys are just belting T-Swift).

All-in-all, good day. I had a ton of fun and am loving being here. The homesickness I’ve been getting is a ton better now and I owe it all to my awesome friends and family (here and back home).

Love you all!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

